Skip to content Skip to main menu Skip to utility menu


2 terms


China's most populous city with over 24 million people. Located on the east coast of China. An important port city and international trading city.

State Council of China (中华人民共和国国务院)

The State Council, constitutionally synonymous with the Central People's Government since 1954, is the chief administrative authority of the People's Republic of China. It is chaired by the Premier and includes the heads of each governmental department and agency. Currently, the council has 35 members: the premier, one executive vice premier, three other vice premiers, five state Councillors (of whom two are also ministers), and 25 additional ministers and chairs of major agencies. In the politics of the People's Republic of China, the Central People's Government forms one of three interlocking branches of power, the others being the Communist Party of China and the People's Liberation Army. The State Council directly oversees the various subordinate People's Governments in the provinces, and in practice maintains membership with the top levels of the Communist Party of China.